Waiting for the Other Shoe to Drop

Isaiah 40:29-31

He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength.  Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles, and they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.

Thought for the Day:  What will you do in the wait?

“But those who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”  I shared with my husband this morning that it seems that we are always “waiting for the other shoe to drop” as we go through life together.  That is probably normal in more families that we might think, but it does seem that it happens a lot with us.  “Things will be better when ….”  As I read my devotion scripture words this morning, I once again had that unnerved feeling that I must be doing something wrong as I do seem to wait for other things to happen.  The devotion in The Upper Room today was about waiting for flower bulbs to bloom.   As I think about waiting for those bulbs to bloom, I can’t help but think about what makes my walks so wonderful.  Much of my excitement comes when I see something beautiful, but still more excitement comes from wondering what beauty I will see later.  What colors will I see next week when more leaves change color, what flower will bloom next, or what baby animals will appear soon.  So, what about this “waiting thing”?  As my husband and I shared discussion this morning he said, “Just imagine how great things are going to be when you get your answer!”  “It is going to be great!”  The wait has been long and there are many days I get down, but maybe God is letting me wait where I will realize how special His answer is when it comes.

God loves us and desires that we love and trust Him as we go through each day.  “But those who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles.”  So we wait, but how do we wait?  As we “wait for the other shoe to drop”, what do we do?  We look at other opportunities that come to us in our wait.  We enjoy doing things in the now that we might not be able to do later.  We share in new ministries or we share time in some type of mission program.  We find those unopened bulbs and watch as they open and bloom.  Watching the unopened bulbs brings excitement in the moment.  Watching for God’s answer to our wait should bring excitement in that wait.  Wait in peace, wait but do something in the meantime, wait for God’s glorious answer to come.

Prayer:  Lord God, thank You for reminding us once again that it is okay to wait.  It is hard, Lord, to wait when things seem tough.  But we trust You Lord to bring that excitement after the waiting time passes.  We love you Lord, We trust you Lord.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those who are waiting

 http://devotional.upperroom.org/devotionals/2017-01-13

Leave a Reply

