I Want to Turn Back to You

Romans 12:1-2

I appeal to you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.  Do not be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that you may prove what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Thought for the Day:  Feel Closer to God today

Reading a devotional blog by a female evangelist this morning, I reflected on how her words could enter my heart to bring me closer to God.  As I read her words, her words about what happens to us when we get complacent in our relationships with those around us, I was touched.  Not only does it affect our human relationships, it also affects our relationship with God.  The last week has brought several trials for our family which have caused a few tears.  As I read the words in the devotion this morning, I realized how easily I personally can let these trials create a bitterness inside me that can affect my relationship with those around me and my relationship with God. She gave three very important instructions for getting those relationships back where they need to be and she has given me personally what I need to do right now in my life. 1) Remember – Remember how wonderful it was to walk with God and feeling the Spirit so deeply that you want it back.  2) Repent – Change our mindset that has taken our thoughts away from God and turn our thoughts back toward God. 3) Repeat – Start doing the things you did when you were closest to God and talk to Him about everything.  As I read her blog this morning and saw these three words, I began thinking about what I could do.  Today, I will strive to remember my closeness with God and talk with Him throughout the day in praise and thanksgiving.  Today, I will work to change my mindset from a “woe is me” mindset to “God, what would you have me do” mindset.  Today, I will go back and do those things that I once did that brought me close to him.  I haven’t walked and taken my pictures lately – today, that will come back.

I am thankful today for Jena, the writer of the blog I read this morning.  God brought her into my life as a conference speaker in March of last year.  I remember crying as she spoke as I was in the midst of strong questions about where God was calling me.  Now, I find that my questions about God’s calling for me are still emotionally driven as I still try to foresee His plan for me.  Her words today, written from her heart, touch my heart and bring me to a renewed mindset that God loves me and that He has a plan for me.  God is in control and God is Who brings me peace and joy.

Prayer:  Lord, God!  We praise You today and want desperately to feel Your presence.  Be with us as we remember how wonderful it feels to be present fully with You.  Be with us as we turn our mindset to run toward You instead of away.  Be with us as we repeat the things over and over that brought us closer to You.  Mostly, Lord, help us know You are walking with us and that You are the most important thought we should have at all times throughout our day.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Coming Back to God

 http://www.jenaforehand.com/2017/01/11/losing-spiritual-edge/

Leave a Reply

