Help Me Feel the Shadow of Thy Wings

Psalms 17:7-8

Wondrously show thy steadfast love, O savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at thy right hand.  Keep me as the apple of the eye; hide me in the shadow of thy wings. 

Thought for the Day: Pray for God’s mighty wings to protect us

Over the past few days, there has been a special “live” video that has appeared on Facebook and other media of the hatching of two baby eaglets.  When I see the link, I click on it to see the video of what is happening in the eagle nest at that moment.  Most of the time, all I see is the eagle mama or daddy sitting in the nest with no sign of the egg or baby.  Only once have I viewed the video to see the movement of an eaglet as it received nourishment from its parent.  Admittedly, I have not viewed the live feed video for long and I am sure I just missed the images of the babies.  However, as I have watched I have realized how protected they are as the parent eagles have covered them with their very strong wings.  To me, I feel it exciting to see a glimpse of the babies, but I feel more excited to see how protective the parent eagles are of the babies.

One of the scriptures mentioned in a devotion I read was from Psalm 17, “Wondrously show thy steadfast love, O savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at thy right hand.  Keep me as the apple of the eye; hide me in the shadow of thy wings.” As I read those words in the early morning hour, my mind immediately went to that eagle’s nest and the vision of the parent eagles taking care of their babies.  Covering them with their wings, they protected their babies from view of enemies and from the view of the cameras.  As God’s children, we are much like those eaglets.   Our protection comes from God and when we heed His voice, His protection “of His wings” drapes over us to protect us from harm.  Today I pray, “Keep me as the apple of the eye; hide me in the shadow of thy wings.”  I want to be protected by His strong wings.

Prayer:  God, You are our Father and our protector.  Today we pray for Your protection as we go through our day.  Be with us as we take each step and help us remember that You are near.  Please protect us from our enemies or from things that can harm us.  Cover us with Your wings today.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those who need to feel God’s Protection

Leave a Reply

