The Loaded Down Christmas Tree

img_9229John 1:12-14

But to all who received him, who believed in his name, he gave power to become children of God; who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.  And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, full of grace and truth we have beheld his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father. 

 

Thought for the DayRemember special times with family, and remember how God loves you.

Looking at our Christmas tree this morning brought memories of ages past and thoughts of time to come.  Each year, I take many hours to put our twenty-five year old artificial tree up wrapping each limb with lights.  Then, we begin placing the multitude of ornaments on the tree with some finding their place in the depth of the limbs while others hang closer to the outside.  After they are placed and the lights are turned on, a beautiful tree stands.  It is a beautiful tree, I must admit, but the beauty for me comes from the many memories of Christmases past.  I once had a friend who helped me put up my tree the year after my husband died and I was alone in the house.  She made the comment that the tree had too much on it and made me feel that I was wrong in placing so many ornaments on the limbs.  Today, over twenty-years later, I can almost guarantee there are double that many ornaments with each having special memories for my husband and me.  For me, there are ornaments my brothers and I made as children with my “artist” brother painting several, there are the “Mary’s Angels” that my mother gave me each year, there are all the ornaments students and choir children have given me through the years, and ornaments from my parents’ Christmas tree that I inherited.  For my husband, there are ornaments he remembers from his grandmother’s tree, there are ornaments that hung on his parents’ tree as he was growing up, and there are ornaments he was given from friends who knew he collected Coca-Cola memorabilia.  Together, there are ornaments from the first year we got married, there are ornaments from our boys’ first Christmases and those our boys made, and there are ornaments we have given each other through the years.  Do we have too many ornaments on our tree, probably to someone coming in and seeing it for the first time. Do we have too many ornaments on the tree, definitely not as each ornament represents a special time or a special person in our lives.  God has blessed us, and each ornament reminds us of a different blessing.

Christmas is a time when we celebrate the birth of the Christ Child.  Christmas is a time to remember those who are with us now and have gone before.  Amy Grant’s song, “Heirlooms”, takes the thoughts of Christmas past and puts them in perspective that the most important truth of the season is the birth of Christ, which is more than an heirloom.  God sent His precious son to us in the form of a baby, a little baby who would grow up to save us.  That is the truth of the season, and in the midst of the decorations of memories, the truth comes to light on Christmas Day as we say Happy Birthday to our Savior, our Lord.

 

Up in the attic, down on my knees

Life times of boxes, timeless to me.

Letter and photographs, yellowed with years,

Some bringing laughter, some bringing tears.

Time never changes, the memories,

The faces of loved ones, who bring to me,

All that I come from and all that I live for,

And all that I’m going to be.

My precious family is more that an heirloom to me.

Wisemen and shepherds, down on their knees,

Bringing their treasures to lay at His feet.

Who was this wonder, Baby yet king?

Living and dying, He gave life to me.

Time never changes the memory, the moment

His love first pierced through me.

Telling all that I came from, and all that I live for

And all that I’m going to be.

My precious Savior, is more than an heirloom to me.

My precious Savior, is more than an heirloom to me.

Prayer:  Precious God, we praise You today for this wonderful creation.  We are thankful today for the special memories You bring to us as we remember the love of our family.  We thank you for bringing Your son to us so many years ago as that tiny baby in the manger.  Help us remember throughout the Christmas Season that He is the reason we celebrate this time of year.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:   Those having special memories at Christmas

Leave a Reply

