In the Wait

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight.  In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

Thought for the DayGod is with us in our times of waiting.

Sometimes God sends little messages through the written word.  As I was deciding whether to walk or not to walk yesterday, I picked up a devotional book, God Calling, and turned to a page and began reading.  The words, I know, were put there for me to read at that moment.  I then read the words to my husband who immediately said, “You need to frame that one”, as if to say that is where you are right now.  I quickly got dressed and said, “I have to walk today!”  My husband said, “Yes you do!”  The reason for the quickness in reply was that he knows there is a place on my walk where I slow down and talk to God.  He knew I needed that time after reading the devotion.

From God Calling

       “Leave me out of nothing.  Love all My ways with you.  Know indeed that ‘All is well.’  Delay is but the wonderful and all-loving restraint of your Father-not reluctance, not desire to deny-but the Divine control of a Father who can scarcely brook the delay.

         Delay has to be-sometimes.  Your lives are so linked up with those of others, so bound by circumstances that to let your desire have instant fulfillment might in many cases cause another, as earnest prayer, to go unanswered.

         But think for a moment of the Love and thoughtful care that seeks to harmonize and reconcile all your desires and longings and prayers.

         Delay is not denial-not even withholding.  It is the opportunity for God to work out your problems and accomplish your desires in the most wonderful way possible for you.

         Oh! Children, trust Me.  Remember that your Maker is also your Servant, quick to fulfil, quick to achieve, faithful in accomplishment.  Yes.  All is Well.”

 

As I found my way to my special place in the park to pray, I felt myself walking quickly where I could talk to God.  I pulled out the devotion and my camera, then wrote notes about what I experienced.  My thoughts came as I reread the devotion:

“Leave me out of nothing.” – Reflecting on our last couple of years, my first thought was that we have leaned on God and talked to God through everything:  My husband’s and my relationship with God and each other has strengthened so much as we both have seen God’s hand at work through a great transition.

“Know indeed that ‘All is well.’”

dsc_4516-2As I read these words, I began hearing scampering of many squirrels through the leaves.  I watched as at least 10 squirrels chased after each other without a care in the world at that moment.  Chattering and making much noise, they knew “all is well”.  In my life, much time has passed since I began my prayer time about where God is leading me.  I haven’t been given the answer to our financial need for me to have a job, but I do know God has given me much peace in my heart as He has led me each day.

“Delay is but the wonderful and all-loving restraint of Your Father-not reluctance, not desire to deny.”

dsc_4538Reading these words, I looked up and in front of me was that path I have loved for this time since I began walking.  God has given me through my walk this beautiful place to pray.  If it had not been for this time, I would have never found the peace that I have found in that place.  The “delay” in answering my prayers has given me a true gift of “Holy Ground” where I can go and “BE” with God.

“Delay has to be sometimes.   Your lives are so linked up with those of others, so bound by circumstances that to let your instant fulfilment might in many cases cause another, as earnest prayer, to go unanswered.” – 

dsc_4541-2Looking up, I saw leaves of different colors and from different tree species all mingled together.  God created all of those to mix together in pure beauty.  As I realize how much I have desired a job, God gave me the word that someone else might have needed the position more than I and my getting a position might have caused someone else hardship.

“But think for a moment of the Love and thoughtful care that seeks to harmonize and reconcile all our desires and longings and prayers.” –

dsc_4530-2Walking down the path as I read this, my heart melted as I looked back to where I had been.  I looked down to see an etching of a leaf that had fallen to the sidewalk, laid there for a while making its mark, and then was blown away. How many thousands of places has God put me in my life, some easy and some difficult, where He placed a special etching on my heart.  This time He has given me has allowed me to find more experiences with Him that will forever give me more etchings.  I have heard His voice and I have responded.

“Delay is not denial-not even withholding.  It is the opportunity for God to work out your problems and accomplish your desires in the most wonderful way possible for you.” –

dsc_4547-2 A moment after I read this, something extraordinary happened.  I left that “Holy Ground” in the park and walked back to the main path.  As I did, my eyes caught some of the most beautiful colors in the trees across the lake.  The colors in my “Holy Ground” faded weeks ago so to see these colors as I left that place was unexpected.  My heart leapt as I realized that what God has planned for me might actually be more spectacular than the plans I have had for myself.  The beauty is coming.

“Oh! Children, trust Me.  Remember that your Maker is also your Servant, quick to fulfill, quick to achieve, faithful in accomplishment.”  Yes! All is Well!”

Finishing my walk, I realized that I had been gone for a very long time.  God and I shared a lot of time together and I felt His presence in a mighty way.  I do trust God, so I now sit back continuing to pray, write, walk, and take pictures.  God has led me to this place, a place in the “meanwhile”, to be my “special place” while He works out the details.

Prayer:  Father, we love You!  Thank you for reminding us through devotions and life experiences that You know the plan You have for us and that sometimes it takes time for You to fulfil that plan.  Help us live each day in the way You would have us live.  Help us to see where You are leading us each day. Amen.

Prayer Focus:  God is with us in the Wait

2 thoughts on “In the Wait

  1. Yes, This is a keeper! I’m talking about your total blog. What a blessing! Thanks for doing just what you are doing. You do now know that you are doing just what God has planned for you. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love you, Lolli

    Like

    1. Thanks, Lolli! Were your ears burning yesterday – I was sharing with someone new about the precious relationship we all share. Yes, I’m beginning to really feel that I am doing what God has called me to do in this time. I am enjoying, sometimes more than I should. Love you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

