Typing Class

Philippians 4:8-9

 Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is gracious, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.  What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, do; and the God of peace will be with you. 

Thought for the DayWhat learned skills is God using in you today?

Recently I had the thrill of reading a sweet message by a teacher I had in high school.  As I read her message giving me encouragement because of how God had worked in her life I remembered how special she was to me.  When I finished reading her words, I thought about her for a few minutes.  I remembered sitting in her class day after day in front of a typewriter as I learned how to type.   I shared with my husband that it was one of my favorite classes and that I still had a textbook that I bought years later where I could practice more.  I began thinking about the skills I learned as I was young in writing, reading, language arts, math, home economics, history, geography, typing and shorthand.  I realized that those hours of sitting in front of that typewriter trained me in a skill that would later become one of the most important skills I ever learned.  I never dreamed that I would love writing my daily devotionals, but I do know that without her class I would not be able to write in the way I do.  As I think, it seems that without hesitation my fingers move over the keys and my thoughts appear on the screen.  As I type the words of scripture each day from the Bible that sits next to me, I can hear my fingers hitting the keys clearer and seemingly louder.

Forty-one years ago, God led me to learn a skill that helped Him fulfill a plan for me.  As I write on a daily basis, the most natural thing I do is put my fingers on my laptop keys.  Before the thoughts come, my fingers sit waiting on the “home keys”.  Then, God brings the thoughts and my fingers begin moving to type the words He has given me.  Today I am ever thankful for this teacher and many more who taught me the skills that helped me learn about God, and to learn about my faith.  At 55, I am still learning new skills and I am still learning about my relationship with God.  Each morning when I awake, I am learning to “wait” on my “home keys”.  I am learning to wait for Him to lead me through my day.  When He leads me, I can then move with ease as I write His words on my heart, the words He ordains for me.

Prayer:  Father God, thank you for all the teachers who have taught us the skills to lead us successfully through life.  Thank you for leading us each day to where You want us to be.  You are wonderful and You are our Father.  Help us feel You as you lead us through our day.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Teachers and Students

Leave a Reply

