Surprise

Matthew 22:37-40

And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.  This is the great and first commandment.  And a second is like it, you shall love your neighbor as yourself.  On these two commandments depend all the law and the prophets.”

Thought for the DayWhat surprise can we bring?

Surprises are nice to receive and they are wonderful to give.  As my youngest son and I awoke on that Saturday morning, with my husband and oldest son out of town, we began in the normal Saturday morning routine of watching TV, eating breakfast, and building LEGOs.  Then, I began cleaning.  As I cleaned, I began to get excited as I thought about my husband and how surprised he would be if I truly cleaned the whole house, including the dreaded “Office”.  I began my quest by picking up in the boys’ rooms then headed into the “Office”.  It had become the catch all room since we moved in so the room I was so proud of when I originally placed things carefully on shelves, became the eye sore of the house.   As each box was emptied and things were placed where they belonged, the room began to take shape.  My excitement built as I realized that I might actually pull off my surprise as my husband traveled the six hours it took to get home.  The more I did the more I found I could do to make it even better.  I freshened carpets, dusted, cleaned bathrooms, washed and folded clothes, and the list goes on and on.  As I worked, my son worked along beside me helping to pick up, to vacuum, and then to keep everything picked up as he played. What a wonderful day he and I had as we worked to create the great surprise!

I watched my son as we heard the garage door open.  He ran out to the car and met his Daddy before the car door opened.  He hugged him and immediately began pulling his Daddy into the house to see the surprise.  And, he laughed in a delightful way as his Daddy reacted to each clean room.  What a blessing to give a surprise to someone who is so loved and admired!  What a blessing to see the surprise on his face.  God is our Father and he loves us more than anyone.  As we see Him each day, what can we do to “surprise” Him?  What can we do to prepare our hearts in a way that would please Him?  He asks us to read His Word in the Bible, to study the words to let them become a part of our lives, to love each other as we love ourselves, and to “clean up the clutter” in our lives where we can give ourselves, our whole selves to him.  That is the gift we can bring…..we can give Him our hearts.  What a great surprise!

Prayer:  God, thank you for reminding us through the beauty of nature of how special we are.  Your creation and the way you let living things change with the easy and hard times of life help us understand the lives we live.  Help us remember that much of our beauty comes from the times of hardship.  Thank you for creating us in such a special way.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those wanting to give more to God

Leave a Reply

