The Listening Test

Psalms 119:97-105

Oh, how I love your law! It is my meditation all day long. Your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies, for it is always with me.  I have more understandinThg than all my teachers, for your decrees are my meditation.  I understand more than the aged, for I keep your precepts.  I hold back my feet from every evil way, in order to keep your word.  I do not turn away from your ordinances, for you have taught me. How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!  Through your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way.  Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.

Thought for the DayLearn to listen for God’s voice

One of the skills teachers have to educate their students on is listening.  It is difficult at times, as children tend to feel they already know everything and they already have their ways of doing things.  When I taught second grade, the students had an end of the year test.  The very last segment of the test was on listening where the students listened to a story and had to answer comprehension questions about it.  As we worked during the weeks prior to the test, the students realized in practice that they indeed needed to listen more closely as they missed small details when they didn’t.  Today’s “Upper Room” devotion was based on Psalms 119 where David wrote about listening to God.  He succeeded in following God because he was in tune with Him. When difficulties came, David listened for God’s voice through meditation on God’s Words. Each day he meditated on the Words of God and through time, those words became a part of David’s thoughts.  Each day, he succeeded in defeating his enemies and in sharing God with those around him because he listened for God to lead him.  He depended on God and listened as he found himself in the midst of trouble.

As I remember those second grade students preparing to take the test on listening skills, and I look at myself in how I need to improve my listening skills to hear God’s voice, I realize that I have a lot to learn.  I, as David, need to become a good student.  I need to be a student in God’s classroom honing in on His lessons and listening closely as He teaches me.  I need to meditate more on His textbook, the Bible, to learn about where He is leading me.  I need to meditate more on His Word to becomes the leader He wants me to be.  If I do this, I will be better prepared for the “Listening Test”.

Prayer:   Thank you God, for preparing your “listening class” for us as we learn to follow You.  Help us learn better to meditate on Your words and to follow You better.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Students

Leave a Reply

