Jump Rope

Ruth 1:16-17

But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you” or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the Lord deal with me, be it ever so severely, if even death separates you and me.”

Thought for the Day: Thank God for someone special today.

Those moments happen that are unexpected and open your mind up to new fun and excitement. As I dropped my boys off at their grandparents’ home, we went inside to visit before I needed to leave. As we did, we heard children playing outside and then noticed they were playing on the end of their driveway. Lolli and I went outside to get a couple of things out of the car and the children, all little boys, had a long jump rope and were taking turns trying to jump. After watching for a few minutes, I noticed Lolli go grab the end of the rope from one of the boys. After a minute of watching the boys having difficulty, I went and grabbed the other end. We began turning the rope and the boys began jumping in. At one point, all five boys were jumping and having a competition. Then, my boys came outside. Neither had ever jumped rope so they did not easily want to participate. My youngest got the nerve first and got in with the other boys, all who were older than him. He struggled, but he was able to jump a few times before he missed. Then, my eldest son decided he would try it. He surprised all of us as he had a pretty good competition going with the oldest boy who was about his age. The laughter and fun had to have been heard through the neighborhood as these two women held the rope for all of these boys to jump rope. I truly believe Lolli had the most fun of anyone there.
That’s Lolli, that’s my “mom”, who was first my mother-in-law, then my “Naomi”, then my “friend”, and then my “mom” who I call just to hear her voice and to hear her advice and love. She is Lolli, the one who without hesitation grabbed the end of that rope to help those neighborhood boys. She is Lolli, who can get me to almost do anything so her example pulled me to hold the other end of the rope. Because of Lolli, my boys both tried jump rope for the first time and found something new to enjoy. Because of Lolli, my boys were having fun with the neighborhood boys who they did not know well until that moment. Because of Lolli, my boys have met new friends and have seen their Lolli and Mama doing something fun. They will never forget those minutes and will hopefully cherish that time in the back of their memory. God gave the world a precious lady in Rita Shaw, and I feel more than blessed to have her in my life. This lady, after her son was tragically killed in a car accident, began giving her life to children through the “Ronald McDonald House”, teaching third grade Sunday School, and to those neighborhood boys. My boys love their Lolli and we all know that this relationship was created by God.

Prayer: God, thank you for bringing the perfect people in our lives at the perfect time. You have a way of creating relationships that are obviously from You in helping us through the times in our lives. Help us look at our relationships and not take them for granted. Amen.

Prayer Focus: Those special people in our lives.

One thought on “Jump Rope

  1. God gave me the most special gift in YOU! You have been a blessing to me and my family from the get-go. You have taught me so much(except Christmas cooking) and I will forever be thankful. Then you brought Mark into our lives and most especially two of the most special boys(beside my own two) I could have ever known. So you see because of you so much has been added to my life for which I can only say “Thank you God” because it is HE who brought us together in the first place and I will praise HIM forever for those gifts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

