Being a Part of the Body of Christ

1 Corinthians 12:23-26

On the contrary, the parts of the body which seem to be weaker are indispensable, and those parts of the body which we think less honorable we invest with the greater honor, and our unpresentable parts are treated with greater modesty, which our more presentable parts do not require.  But God has so composed the body, giving the greater honor to the inferior part, that there may be no discord in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another.  If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together. 

Thought for the Day;  What can you do today as a part of the Body of Christ?

As I found myself searching the internet on my phone before I went to sleep for news about Hurricane Matthew, I read the words “Hundreds Killed in Haiti”. My heart ached as I read about the devastation to that country.  Then I read about the evacuations taking place in the United States along the east coast as our country awaited the storm to come.  I went to sleep knowing that the news when I awoke would be about destruction and pain in our own country.  This morning, I read the Upper Room Devotion where the writer shared about traveling to other countries with her son who was a missionary.  She said that because of those travels she was able to see the faces of ones she met as she read devotions by them or as she thought about them.  Today, I awake and can see the images in my mind of the children of Haiti as friends have shared their pictures from mission trips to that area and I see the faces of friends who live closer to the coast.  Between the news, pictures, and special memories of friends who have been in the path of the storm, we ache and we feel true pain as we think about them.

We are the Body of Christ.  We are all members of the Body of Christ and when one part of the Body hurts, we all hurt.  That is the way God created us.  As I watch the news this morning, it doesn’t take much for me to get so wrapped up in it that I almost get lost in it.  I have caught myself several times praying, “God be with those in the path of that storm”, “Please let the storm weaken before it does any more damage”, or “Lord, protect them.”  Today, a part of The Body of Christ, which we are a part of, is hurting.  And today, we will witness the Body of Christ at work in sending aid, in praying, in loving in an empathetic way, and in helping that part of The Body of Christ that is in need.  We are the body of Christ.

Prayer:   Almighty God, thank you for creating us to be a part of something bigger.  Thank you for making us a part of Your Body.  Help us help those in need in any way we can and to be understanding to those of us who are hurting.  Help us empathize with those we meet who may need our help.  Help us be The Body of Christ.

Prayer Focus:  The Body of Christ

Leave a Reply

