God’s Natural Beauty

Job 12:7-10

“But ask the beasts, and they will teach you; the birds of the air, and they will tell you; or the plants of the earth, and they will teach you; and the fish of the sea will declare to you.  Who among all these does not know that the hand of the Lord has done this? In his hand is the life of every living thing and the breath of all mankind.”

Thought for the Day:   God brings us gifts of beauty all around us, take it in.

Walking through the woods and then beside the beautiful river brought soothing sounds and views.  As I walked the few hundred feet to the river, I heard the birds chirping, the water moving gently, the boat engines softly running and wind blowing in the trees.  As I neared the river edge, water fowl became disturbed and flew overhead bringing me to grab my camera as fast as I could to grab a memory of the moment.  As I made the decision to drive the distance to pack things from our family cabin, I had not thought of the peace God would give me through nature.  Since the cabin no longer has electricity or water, I stayed in another place closer to the water and right in the midst of God’s natural creation near the river.   As I awake this beautiful morning and sit on the patio to write, I realize that I have to leave to go home today and I have to leave this special place.  My heart yearns for another day of peace.  Our cabin is finished, as far as what I can do now, and I have an even bigger yearning to see my husband and my boys.  I will miss this place.

Today, I travel the 370 miles to reach my family.  As I drive, I will receive more nature gifts from God.  Today, I will drive through State of Tennessee and as I do I will drive through the midst of some of the most beautiful natural areas anywhere.   Today I will see colors in the changing of the seasons, I will see hills that are majestic in stature, and I will continue feeling God.  And at the end, I will drive into my driveway and meet my biggest and most special gift, my family.  God is here and God is there, and God is in every mile that I travel in between.

As I wrote that last sentence today, I looked out the screened porch to see the sun about to peek through the top of the trees.  I grabbed my camera, as I will, and took off almost running down to the river to take some pictures.  I have included a few at the beginning of my devotion today. 

Prayer:  Father God, you are awesome!  You give us what we need when we need it, even when we don’t see it.  Thank you for nature, thank you for beauty, thank you for family, and thank you for your never ending and unconditional love.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Spending time in nature

Leave a Reply

