Scripture Memories

Psalm 100

Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the lands!

Serve the Lord with gladness! Come into his presence with singing!

Know that the Lord is God! It is he that made us, and we are his;

We are his people and the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise!

Give thanks to him, and bless his name!

For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever,

And his faithfulness to all generations.

Thought for the Day:   Remember the first step in prayer:  Praising God

Waking on a Saturday morning without the hustle and bustle of getting children ready to catch the school bus gives me extra alone time.  That is not always a good thing, but at times I find my mind going to songs and scriptures from my early years.  The very first scripture I remember memorizing and reciting was Psalm 100.  I remember standing in the corner of our living room next to our sofa at the parsonage at Browns United Methodist Church when I learned it.  I remember standing proudly as I recited that scripture.  Each day I read scriptures and pray, and then each day I find myself trying to figure things out on my own and I try to take control of situations.  Later, I will get upset at myself because I know that is not what God called me to do.  I teach my children’s choir lessons each week and one of the first lessons I taught them was the five parts of prayer: Praise, thanks, confession, pray for others, and lastly – pray for self.  Wow, each day I think my prayer goes first to the one that should be last – I pray for my needs and wants.  That is so mixed up, isn’t it? As I reflect over that first scripture I memorized, I realize that if I begin my prayer time with that scripture, everything will be put into perspective because the first thing will be the first thing – Praising God!

 Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the lands!

Serve the Lord with gladness! Come into his presence with singing!

Know that the Lord is God! It is he that made us, and we are his;

We are his people and the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise!

Give thanks to him, and bless his name!

For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever,

And his faithfulness to all generations.

As days go by, and as I continue my quest for what God has next for me, I realize that at times I think, “When I get a job, I will give God the praise!”  Most of the time I praise God through it all but those weak times come.  Today, the words to “Psalm 100” will remain on my tongue and I will praise God and give Him the glory.

Prayer:  God, You are our Almighty and all-knowing God!  We praise you for who you are and thank you for all you do for us each day.  Be with us today to remember scriptures and prayers that praise you and give you the glory.  Lead us through this day.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those Searching

Leave a Reply

