Where Do We Turn for Comfort?

 

Where Do We Turn for Comfort?

Psalms 116:1-2

I love the Lord, because he has heard my voice and my supplications.  Because he inclined his earth to me, therefore I will call on him as long as I live.

Thought for the Day:   Turn first to God

I write devotions and share them on a devotional blog each day called “Donna’s Morning Coffee”.  I began attending a Ladies Bible Study recently and have enjoyed reading the book of daily lessons.  Yesterday, I knew I was in trouble when I read the words, “Are you as desperate for ME as you are for that cup of coffee?”  The lesson titled, “Chocolate, Shoes, or Jesus?” struck home as I read about the many things in our lives that we turn to for comfort when we should first turn to God.  God wants to be first in our lives, we know that and we have heard that from the time we were children.  But, as I think more about my life and the things that are important, am I really putting God first.  Each night before I go to bed, I make sure my coffee pot is set and ready to come on at a particular time where the first thing I do when I awake is to get that cup of coffee.  That is what I look forward to, and in this moment I realize that I put that coffee first, then I pray and spend time with God.  “Are you as desperate for ME as you are for that cup of coffee?”  My first thought is “why of course”, because I am always talking to you God.  But my next thought is “God, I am so sorry that I let other things bring me comfort instead of turning FIRST to You.”

God wants us to turn to Him first for everything: comfort, healing, security, needs.  When we remember God first, we find He gives us peace from that moment when other things cannot give it to us.  My coffee wakes me up, yes, but until I ask for God to enter in my heart, I do not get what I truly need.  “Love the Lord Your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength, and with all your mind; and your neighbor as yourself.”  God wants us to come to Him for everything with all the love in our heart.  What do we need to do to change our priorities where God is first?  What “comforts” to we need to move where we can move God to first place?

Prayer :  God, You are our Almighty God and You are our Strength.  Thank you for loving us and giving us our needs.  Be with us each day and help us remember to come to you first for our comfort instead of turning to something else.  We are sorry for finding comfort in other places, because our comfort should come first from You.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Finding Comfort

2 thoughts on “Where Do We Turn for Comfort?

  1. Donna, what a good reminder today! We are in the process of selling a house and building another. Putting God first is the ONLY way I can keep my sanity. Why do I tend to forget that?😕 Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Janet! I am actually having difficulty with that as well. As I sit in Bible Study each week, I realize that most people seem to do the same thing. But, waking up to pray seems to put things in the right perspective. Thanks again!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

