Treasure in the Attic Boxes

1 Corinthians 2:9

But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man conceived, what God has prepared for those who love him.”

Thought for the Day:  Look for God’s Hidden Treasures

That moment, that special moment, when a box is opened and in it are treasures from the past.  Over the last few days, I have been blessed to continue going through boxes of treasures that have been in the corner of the attic for many years.  The box, filled with sports pennants from different national teams that once lined the ceiling area of my brothers’ bedroom, along with jackets of favorite teams caught my emotions off guard with wonderful memories.  The box full of items that sat on my brothers’ room shelves along with the baseball record book of each game that my brother sat and scored as he watched the St. Louis Cardinals and The Atlanta Braves brought memories of my brothers enjoying life.  That was the box that made me lose myself in emotions and when I had to stop for a while.  Later, more treasures came like the handwritten letter written to my brother, Coble, from Brooks Robinson.  I almost threw that one away accidentally without knowing the treasure I held in my hand.

Treasures, those remembered and forgotten, bring special moments in our lives.  God’s treasures, those seen and unseen bring those special moments as well.  As life happens on a day to day basis, we know that God is leading us to His treasures and sometimes we do not recognize how special they are so we put them away in “boxes” and forget about them.  When we finally open the “boxes”, we see how those treasures of God helped us through times in our lives.  God’s treasures, special treasures, are there for us if we will only recognize them.

Prayer:  Father, thank you for loving us and sharing Your special treasures with us every day.  You are amazing!  Please open our eyes to see Your gifts through those treasures where we will not put them in a box to be hidden.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those looking through attic boxes

Leave a Reply

