God Uses Our Inadequacies

Luke 9:16-17

And taking the five loaves and the two fish he looked up to heaven, and blessed and broke them, and gave them to the disciples to set before the crowd.  And all ate and were satisfied.  And they took up what was left over, twelve baskets of broken pieces.

Thought for the Day:  Christ will give us His adequacy to meet the needs of people if we yield our inadequacy to Him

“In my life, Lord, be glorified, be glorified.  In my life, Lord, be glorified today.”  As I woke very early on Saturday morning and wrote my morning devotion, I found a struggle.  It was a true struggle for the words to write.  I searched for a long time through devotions and scriptures before the words came.  As I went through the morning hours after writing, I found myself in tears several times.  With head down in my hands, I prayed.  With eyes looking up seeing the blue sky, I listened to Christian songs of faith.  With overwhelming heartache, I cried.  My husband appeared worried that I had lost all hope and faith.   At some point, I looked at Facebook and saw that a message had come in from a dear friend.  In the message she said that she had just shared my devotion for the day with a friend who needed to hear the words.  I stopped, stunned that the words I had written when I was at a very low point in those early morning hours might have helped someone in need.  I wrote those words selfishly because I was feeling sorry for myself and feeling very inadequate.  Worry and stress brought the words I wrote.  God worked through my inadequacies to help someone else.

Today, before I even got out of bed, I prayed.  I admit that most of the time, I get my coffee and sit on the couch before I say my first prayer.  Today, I prayed first. I prayed for God’s miracles to happen in my life to help my family and me see answers to some questions.  In the moments after I awoke, I realized that the difficulties of yesterday were because I was feeling sorry for myself and I realized that my thoughts were only on me.  Today, I prayed that I show Jesus Christ to others by my words and my actions.  Yesterday, God used my inadequacies to help someone.  Today, I pray that God uses me to touch someone as I try more intentionally to be who God wants me to be.  “In my life, Lord, be glorified, be glorified.  In my life, Lord, be glorified today.”

Prayer:  Father God, You use our inadequacies to help others.  How humbling to realize that something we do brings glory to Your name!  God You took something done through a fault, and turned it into something else.  Be with us as we find ways to glorify You as we intentionally put our eyes on You.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

