Through It All

Psalm 37:5-7

Commit your way to the Lord, trust in him and he will act.  He will bring forth your vindication as the light, and your right as the noonday.  Be still before the Lord, and wait patiently for him; fret not yourself over him who prospers in his way, over the man who carries out evil devices.

Thought for the Day:  God is with you “through it all”

“Through it all, Through it all, I’ve learned to trust in Jesus, I’ve learned to trust in God.  Through it all, Through it all, I’ve learned to depend upon His word.”  As a teenager, I remember that this was a very popular Christian song that appeared in many Christian music books.  As I share stories about my life and the periods of trial and grief, I tend to always share that “through it all”, I can always look back and see where God has been right there with me through it all.   Songs similar to this one were those that I played on piano and sang along with as was my “stress relief” during those years of worry about my brothers as we lived “through it all” in the life of boys with Muscular Dystrophy.  Whenever I was in the car, I had Christian music playing and sang along with Amy Grant and Kathy Trocolli, which helped me make it “through it all” as I lived alone as a young youth director in a small Middle Tennessee town.  During the time after my husband died, I had my guitar that I pulled out to write songs about how God was with me “through it all”.  Even today, many years later, I sing along with Christian music as I get dressed in the morning and as I travel in my car throughout the day.

Many followers of Christ have done as I, and have used Christian music as their way to make it “through it all”.  That is obvious in all of the songs that have been written where someone has struggled and looked back to see where God had been present in their midst.  If we look at the Books of Psalms in the Old Testament and in the letters of Paul in the New Testament, we see many “through it all” moments.  Some of those moments were written as they were literally going through their struggles, and some were written when they looked back on a situation that they had made it “through it all”.  “Through it all, Through it all, I’ve learned to trust in Jesus, I’ve learned to trust in God.  Through it all, Through it all, I’ve learned to depend upon His word.”

Prayer:  Father, You have been with us every step of our lives and we thank you for helping us make it “through it all”.  Help us to never forget our past times when it is obvious you were present with us.  Help us rejoice each day as we know You are helping us make it “through it all”.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Finding God “Through it all”

 

 

2 thoughts on “Through It All

    1. Thanks, Lolli! I just read “Through it all” to Mark. I have almost finished writing what I will talk about on Sunday, but I have now added this devotional to end my time with that special Sunday School class. Love you – You always steer me the right direction.

      Like

Leave a Reply

