Love the Lord Your God

Deuteronomy 6:5

You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your might.

Thought for the Day:  God wants us to love Him with all our heart, soul, and might.

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your might.” We all remember this scripture from when we were little and have seen it on pictures and plaques hanging on walls. But what does this mean for us a Christians? As a child this scripture helped me visualize God as a father figure and the feeling I had of love for my Daddy helped me understand how I was supposed to love God. I loved him as a little girl in a way that I just wanted to run to him for a hug when I saw him.   I loved him as a teenager in respect not wanting to do something that would disappoint him in some way. And as an adult, I couldn’t get enough of him – I wanted to be with him all the time. In thinking about God as I look at my relationship with my Daddy, I can clearly see what God wants from me.

God wants me to love him in such a way that makes me run to Him for a hug. He wants me to love him in such a way that makes me want to only show respect to Him where I will not disappoint Him. And, God wants me to want to be with Him all the time and He wants me to always yearn for Him. Today, as I look at my relationship with God, I can see that through my love and respect for Him, I have seen his hand lead me in so many ways and I feel His love for me as I open my eyes to see him more clearly. Each day brings more opportunity to love God, to respect God, and to run to God in all times. “You shall love your ‘Daddy’ with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your might.”

Prayer:   Our Father, thank you for loving us in such a way from even before we were born. You are the one we run to when we are in need, we respect in all times, and we yearn to be with. Help us to always focus on you with all our heart, with all our soul, and with all our might. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WANTING TO BE NEARER TO GOD

Leave a Reply

