She Showed Dignity and Strength

Proverbs 31:25-31

Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.  She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching and kindness is on her tongue.  She looks well to the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness.  Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her. “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.”  Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.  Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates.

Thought for the Day:  Remember someone who showed God’s love to you.

She awoke at 3:45 each morning to awake her husband and five children.  Her husband and the four boys headed out in those early morning hours to go out to the barn and milk cows.  While they were milking, she and her daughter prepared breakfast for the men when they came in.  Later, she prepared the children with their clothes, supplies, and lunches to get on their school buses to head to school for the day.  While the children were away, she cleaned house and prepared a lunch for her husband and the men who worked the farm with him.  After lunch, she cleaned the dishes and washed a load of clothes by hand to hang out in the afternoon sunshine.  As the clothes hung, she began her preparations for dinner because her children would be hungry because when they came home from school, it was time to milk the cows for their afternoon milking.   This was her daily routine that kept her family going.  This was my grandmother, my little four foot nine grandmother, who took care of the needs for her family.  She was a stronghold who kept it all together.  Last night, I remembered my grandmother fondly as I tried a new recipe for barbecue chicken.  I realized as it was cooking that my house smelled similar to my grandmother’s house as she cooked meals for us when I was younger.  When I took my first bite, my thoughts went immediately back to her table filled with the delights she prepared for anyone who sat at her table.  I said a couple of times, “This tastes like the chicken Mama Ed made!”  What a special memory of times past that I found myself sharing with my husband and children.

“Mama Ed”, my grandmother, was very special and was such a great example to those who met her and got to know her.  As I found myself living with her for a period of time in the mid-1980s, I witnessed an older version of the lady described who took care of her children.  I witnessed a prayerful woman who followed God through her life.  I sat beside her in the church a few miles away where she sat with her children when they were young.  I sat at her Sunday lunch table where she welcomed anyone who found themselves sitting at her table.  I sat and listened to the stories she told as she held crochet needles and crocheted afghans for her grandchildren.  I loved my time with my grandmother as she showed God’s love to me.  I will be forever grateful and thankful to God for the way He showed His love to me through that remarkable woman.  I love you, Mama Ed.

Prayer:  Father God, thank you for memories.  When we get too preoccupied with our own lives to remember how those in the past lived, it is good to think about them.  Thank you for those thoughts today.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those remembering family

Leave a Reply

