Old Faithful

Deuteronomy 7:9

Know therefore that the Lord your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations.

Thought for the Day:  God is Faithful

You know when you read about an experience someone else has had and you feel like you were there?  That happened to me as I read the words of a friend this morning as she described the brakes smoking and not working as she drove an unfamiliar stretch of road with her three boys.  My friend, my special friend Amy, entering into her fourth week traveling with her three boys cross country has amazed me every step of the way.  They have experienced many difficulties along the way and just kept on going.  As they have kept going, they have seen and experienced some of the most beautiful and memorable areas of our United States.   The list of the states, national parks, and other interesting places visited has become very long.  Today, they see one of my favorite places, Yellowstone!  I told her to please “Wave and say hello to Old Faithful”.  For hundreds of years Old Faithful Geyser has been watched.  Of course there is no button to push to make it erupt at a certain time as it is on its on timing.  But, in its own time of erupting every fifty minutes up to an hour and a half, it erupts.  People sit and stand at the sides (300 feet away) waiting to hear the rumble first and then to see the geyser push its water hundreds of feet up in the air.  I remember as a young girl waiting and waiting for what seemed forever but then the excitement came as the water slowly appeared and then the huge eruption took place.  You know, that heart pumping excitement within along with the outward applause from the crowd.  I remember that experience from when I was probably 7-8 as if it was yesterday.

Waiting, anticipating, waiting, eruption!  Today, this helped me in a way in thinking about God and where He is leading me in my next steps.  Today, I realize that we are all looking for something and anticipating where God will lead us next.  Old Faithful is named that for a reason.  Throughout history, Old Faithful has been watched over and over and over, because that geyser will erupt without fail.  God is Faithful.  God will show His mystery and miracles without fail.  He will guide our feet, in His time, without fail.  He is faithful and will always be faithful.  Through my friend’s experience today, I have found my clear vision through that Old Geyser, that God is Faithful and will lead us into our next steps.

Prayer:  Father, thank you for being faithful without fail.  Help us become more patient where we can watch You working around us and through us.  Lord, help me become more faithful in my thoughts of You where we will be the children You want us to be.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Experiencing God’s Faithfulness

 

Leave a Reply

