Unexpected Messenger

Exodus 4:10-12

But Moses said to the Lord, “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either heretofore or since thou hast spoken to thy servant; but I am slow of speech and of tongue.” Then the Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth?  Who makes him dumb, or deaf, or seeing, or blind?  Is it not I, the Lord.  Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak.”

Thought for the Day:  God sends unexpected messengers

Almost two years ago, we had an experience of singing at a church and telling a little bit about the situation we were in where my husband was without a ministry position.  During that time of sharing, a precious friend of ours, who did not know until that service about our situation, was called by God to go to the altar to pray.  During her time there, she had a type of vision where she saw a hand reaching toward hers and heard a voice say, “Tell him to take my hand and I will lead him to the place he is to go.”  She knew it was a message to my husband from God.  She didn’t understand why God would choose her to deliver the message and didn’t want to talk to my husband about her vision.  It was just an odd thing for someone to go up to another person to do.  She shared with me recently about her embarrassment of coming to my husband in tears telling him that God shared with her that he was to reach out his hand to God and He would lead him to the place he was to go.   She added that she went home that afternoon and cried.  Later, when she found out that my husband had been offered a remarkable ministry position, she said she heard the words, “See, you needed to trust me.”  She said it was then that she understood what happened to her during that worship service.

During the last moments of our recent conversation she said she still didn’t understand why God chose to speak to her at the altar.  She had never been spoken to in that way before and was not one to do things like that.  It was then that these words came out of my mouth, “Well, when you read all of the stories in the Bible about God sending messengers to share His word, most of them felt the same way.  That was the reason my husband and I listened to her message.  Because it came from her and knowing this was not like her, we knew without a doubt that the message was from God.”  I continued sharing with her that those words she shared that day kept us going in a way.  My husband mentioned that “hand” often and felt that God was leading him toward his new calling.  And, we know now that taking that hand, the hand my husband knew about because of a wonderful unexpected messenger, led him to the place where God called.

Prayer:  God, thank you for sending messengers to us when we need to hear. Your words.  Through those people we hear clearly what You are calling us to do.  God, you have led many through the wilderness and the messengers you sent were the ones who gave Your instructions.  Thank you for sending those “unexpected” messengers.  Because of the unexpected, we knew their words were from You.  Help us listen to “Your voice” through them .  Amen.

Prayer Focus: God’s Messengers

 

Leave a Reply

