Then there are those Days

Psalm 139:7-12

Whither shall I go from thy Spirit? Or whither shall I flee from thy presence?  If I ascend to heaven, thou are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, thou art there!  If I take wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there thy hand shall lead me, and they right hand shall hold me.  If I say, “Let only darkness cover me, and the light about me be night,” even the darkness is not dark to thee, the night is bright as light with thee.

Thought for the Day:  God is with you no matter where you are

And then there are those days when we lose it, we try to find it, we lose it, we try to find it, we lose it, then we cry.  For a couple of days, I felt a loneliness that was different from the normal lonely feeling I feel occasionally.  I found myself at times tearing up as I sat alone and as I sat with family, as I sat and prayed and as I sat at the dinner table.  It really didn’t make sense.  I began praying harder and as I prayed I asked for clarity in what I was to do next.  At one point, I sat outside on the deck as a rain storm came in.  As I watched, I looked out at the limbs as they all seemed to move in unison.  One moment they drooped down and seemed to keep moving down only to begin rising together in a beautiful way.  I caught myself saying, “That is the coolest thing I have ever seen.”  But that didn’t help because I wondered if that was the sign I was looking for and realized it probably wasn’t.  As I shared this with my husband, he said, “You are doing exactly what I did during that time I didn’t have a position – you are questioning yourself and worrying. Honey, God didn’t bring us here to ‘drop us’.  He is going to take care of all of us.”  He was right and when he began consoling me, I began weeping. It was then I began feeling peace because not only did he hold me in his arms but both of my boys came over and reached their arms around me as well.  That feeling of love I felt in the moment was the sign I prayed for.  That was the clear sign from God that He loved me in a special way.

Today, I am sure of God’s love for me.  Today, I am sure of my family’s love for me.  Today, I am sure God has a plan for me and in the proper moment, He will let me in on the secret.  But until then, I am going to live in the moment knowing that this moment is a part of God’s plan too, because He already knows our every moment.

Prayer:  God, thank you for not giving up on us when we feel out of sorts and lost.  You promised to stay with us through the storms, and You have helped us know who we are through Your love.  Thank you for giving us our family and friends who can wrap Your love around us through their warm hugs and embraces.  Be with those today who do not have family and friends, and help them feel Your arms today.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those Feeling Lost and Lonely

 

 

2 thoughts on “Then there are those Days

  1. And I too send arms of love to wrap you and let you know it is all in His plan and timing, as you already know. It is hard to be “still and know” that God is in charge. I can sense your anxious feeling. It does put a knot in your stomach. The answer will come. Lord, grant us patience to wait. It is so hard.

    Like

    1. I love you Rita. Thanks for the talk last night. Mom, I needed you and you knew it! You know me better than almost anyone and you know when I need to hear your voice. That is an amazing gift from God to me. Love you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

