Living the Norm

Matthew 5:5

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

Thought for the Day:  See the special “normal” in those with special needs.

As I awoke and read the Upper Room Devotional this morning, I was touched by the story told.  It was about how the unique personality of one took the attention away from the normal.  When I was young, and had two brothers with Duchene Muscular Dystrophy, I watched their daily struggle living in a normal home and normal school situation but doing it from their wheelchairs.  At home, my mother gave herself to them as she helped them with their daily bathing, dressing, grooming, feeding, and every other need – most of which we would never think of as we go about our day.  At school, the boys had their friends who helped them get to their classes, giving themselves to my brothers as they took care of taking them to the restroom, getting their books from their lockers, and then pushing them and even sitting with them during their classes.  My brothers were special and everyone knew it.  It wasn’t because they were in their wheelchairs.  It was because the wheelchairs and their tenacity for life created unique young men, each with their own quirks and talents.  They received a lot of attention because of their handicaps, but they received a lot of admiration because of their talents and because of how they lived their lives from those wheelchairs.

Today as I read about one albino dolphin getting all the attention from those watching, I realized that because of its “handicap”, doing the normal things that normal dolphins do made it special.  My brothers were special because they did the “normal” things that people do on a daily basis….they just did them from their wheelchairs with the help from others.  God created them to be unique.  Thousands of people witnessed God through my brothers as they watched them live.  Thousands admired my mothers and their other caretakers.  I watched it all, never realizing what I was witnessing, and looking back I realized I watched something amazing – God’s special creation in my brothers.

Prayer:   Father God, thank you for letting us witness amazing things through special people doing normal things.  Help us love and admire “know how to help them live “normal” lives.  We love you, God!  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Handicaps

 

Leave a Reply

