He “Prayed Over Me”

Psalms 145:18-19

The Lord is near to all who call upon him, to all who call upon him in truth.  He fulfils the desire of all who fear him, he also hears their cry, and saves them.

Thought for the Day:  Have faith in God and trust in His plan

There are those moments in time when we can feel God’s presence and one of those moments happened yesterday.  My husband and I, among several, were graciously invited to a function with many of our church members.  We had a grand time sharing a meal with them and having wonderful conversation.  I must say all of us who came felt an overwhelming sense of welcome and love as we shared time with this special group.  After that time of fellowship, we were invited by one of the couples to ride with them in their car to see the beautiful area they lived in and to see their new house.  What a delight it was to share time with them and to share conversation.  They were very interested in us and where we came from and we learned a lot about them.  When we left their house, the wife stayed there while the husband took us back to our car.  When we parked, we continued sitting in his car and talked for a while longer.  We shared with him about how things were going in our new home and that everyone seemed to be settling in well, but that I needed to know where God was leading me in a job.  Then it happened, without any indication that anything special was about to happen, he started praying.  There have been a couple of times in my life when I felt someone “praying over me”, and I can add this one to my list.  His prayer brought me to a place where I felt the closeness of God surrounding me with His love, and I felt that it was all going to be perfect because God already knows where He is going to place me.  Tears welled up in my eyes as he prayed and I felt that his prayer had brought me to a place of security.  I told my husband after we began driving home that I felt in that moment of prayer that God was about to do something big, and it is going to be wonderful.

During the meal with this special group of people, there were rocks decorating the tables.  Each rock had special words of faith written on it.  At the end of the meal, we were asked to take the centerpiece and to take a stone or two.  In front of me were several stones and the very first one I noticed was “trust”.  As soon as they said to take one with us, I grabbed that one and showed it to my husband.  He said, “That’s a good one for you.”  I then began to look at the other words and chose “faith” as my second stone as that is what I continuously need and thought that “trust” and “faith” were a perfect pair for where I am in my life.  To have our friend “pray over me” an hour after choosing those words drew me in to a special place of “faith” and the thought that I have to “trust” God, for He has a perfect plan.

Prayer:   God, thank you for people who pray for us.  Please make us more like those friends who have a way of “praying over us” that reminds us about how special we are to You.  Be with us as we go through our day to have faith, and to trust in You.  You are our guide and our friend.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those needing prayer

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “He “Prayed Over Me”

  1. What a beautiful time you must have had. God does have a special plan for you but you must be patient and wait for His timing. It may come at the last minute, so be ready. Love you, Lolli

    Like

    1. I know, I know! I think for the most part I want to enjoy this summer and finish unpacking and getting the house completely out of boxes. If I were doing preplanning I would not be able to do that – I am thankful for the time. But, as Mark said, we would like to know something. I’ll call you soon. Love you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

