Opening Treasures

2 Timothy 4:7-8

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.  Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day, and not only to me but also to all who have loved his appearing.

Thought for the Day:  Who has helped lead us to our faith?

What fun I have had over the past few days unpacking those boxes that have been lining rooms in our house since we moved in five months ago.  As each dining room box was opened I found different treasures inside.  Each treasure represented a particular time in history for my husband, our parents, our grandparents, and me.  Most of what I unpacked were glass treasures such as china, crystal, and figurines.  As I pulled them out I brought each piece to the kitchen to wash and as I did so I felt I was holding in my hands something that represented a part of our history and where we came from.  There were the blue, gold and pink depression glass pieces my mother received as a young girl.  There was the collection of floral china pieces from the collection of my husband’s mother.  As I continued I opened matching crystal pitchers and goblets that my mother loved, and china and stemware from when we were married.  What special memories each piece held.

I loved the time of memories I encountered throughout that special time and it began thoughts about the special treasures that reflect my faith journey.  There are the Bibles I have placed on shelves in our office that belonged to our ancestors that were read as they journeyed with Christ.  There are the many figurines that my husband and I have given each other that represent a part of our lives in Christ.  There are the porcelain buildings of places we have lived and visited.  And there are the pictures, so my albums of pictures that represent our family histories and how the faith journeys of those ancestors led us to the faith journey we travel today.  Today I am thankful that I have always known I am a child of God and I have always known that it is Christ who lives within me.  All of the treasures that have been stored in those boxes and all of the treasures that line my memories are what brought me to my faith and my knowledge that God is with me as he was with so many who went before.

Prayer:   God, thank you for the memories that line our minds.  Thank you that the people we remember have helped lead us to the faith we have today.  Help us today to pass along the faith we have to those that come after us.  Help us lead them in their faith journey with You.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those unpacking boxes

Leave a Reply

