Was, Is,Will Be

Ephesians 2:10

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

Thought for the Day:  God is always with us

For the first time since we moved into our new house in late December, I was able to begin opening some boxes that had been stacked in corners.  It was encouraging to be able to finally open some of our memory items and place them on shelves.  At one point, I opened a box of my mother’s music and pulled out a misplaced folder of papers.  As I began looking at the contents, I realized it was a folder of writing assignments I had finished in college/graduate school.  Several of the papers written were about my family and living a life that included telling about my handicapped brothers and about my struggles with shyness.  As I read I realized that my writing style then was very much as it is today, and I realized that even at that young age I had a story to tell.  There was a part of me that felt I was reading writings from someone other than myself, but each part of the writing brought back vivid memories of the childhood I lived.  That young writer didn’t know at that time that she would live through many more tragic moments in her life, but in reading her words I could see that even then she had the faith in God that He would get her through.

Today, as I write on a daily basis, I wonder what it will be like to read my words many years from now.   If I wait thirty-five years to read what I have written now I think I will say, “That ‘young’ lady had a lot going on in her life.”  I might think, “She was old when God gave her the boys.”  But, the words I hope I say those many years from now are, “She kept her faith through everything that happened in her life and continued to show the love of the Father.”  Looking back on those papers from the past was a time of precious memories and I know God was with me then, is with me now, and will be with me in years to come.

Prayer:   God, thank you for surprises in unpacking.  Thank you for the words we read from our past that help us know who we are today.  Thank you for the reassurance that you are always with us.  Remind us daily that you have always been there, are with us today, and will always remain with use as we go through this life.  Amen.

Prayer Focus:  Those going through memories

 

Leave a Reply

