Surrounded by Godly Friends

Hebrews 10:24-25

Let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good words, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.

Thought for the Day:  What kind of friend am I?

What type of friend am I?” “What type of friend are you?” These are the questions that I heard this morning as my husband listened to a Sunday Morning television program as he readied himself to leave for church. As I thought about it, I began thinking about the people in my life who have touched me in a way that has brought Jesus in my heart. As I thought about those special, very special friends who have touched me I realized how many there are. Surrounding my life full of tragedy, fear, grief, happiness, and joy have been special people who have loved me and who have prayed me through life. I am not a person who is “surrounded” by friends to go places with or to participate in “fun” things with – quiet me. That was my mother’s personality and it is mine. However, that has not stopped me from feeling the love of many as I have gone through my life. As I shared a writing recently about a concern that came up in my family, I realized how many friends are still there praying us through. The statistics for that day, because of the concern of friends, was exceedingly high and was overwhelming to me as I realized how many read my words and prayed for us. A few of these friends even messaged me to make sure we were okay. As I listened to the Sunday morning television show, I heard words similar to this, “When was the last time you went to a party where someone brought up God?” When I heard this, I thought about it and realized that in the circle of friends I have, I am always hearing about God. I am always in the midst of people who share God. Then I smiled and thought, “That is a wonderful place to be.”

I am so thankful for my “Godly” friends and I am blessed everyday knowing the love we have. When I turn this around and look at myself in the friendship area, I see a lot of improvement I need to make where I can be more like those friends who have been there for me. I pray, yes I pray. But, do I minister to people in the way that would bring Jesus into their hearts? I don’t know. I am not good at taking food to a friend who is sick, volunteering to feed the homeless, jumping to get on the next plane for an overseas mission trip, or any of those outgoing things. I hope, however, that the quiet spirit of my mother’s has somehow come across in a loving way to others. Again, “What kind of friend am I?” That is a huge thought provoking question. That is one I will ponder in the coming days. All I know is that I love God – I love my family – I love my friends. I am thankful for my friends.

Prayer: Father God, thank you for the great cloud of witnesses you have blessed us with in our lives and thank you for those special friends who have touched us each day. Help us be more like you as we share times with friends and as we meet new friends along the way. Amen.

Prayer Focus: Being a good friend

Video:  Charles Stanley’s message from this morning:  https://www.intouch.org/watch/strong-friendships/strong-friendships-part-2

2 thoughts on “Surrounded by Godly Friends

Leave a Reply

