Equipping Us for His Plan

Philippians 1:3-11

And I am sure that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. (RSV)

Thought for the Day:  God equips us with what we need to fulfill His plan

God shows us our gifts and talents as we need them. In the time after my husband, David, passed away there were many moments when I did not know what I was going to do with my life. I questioned God on many things and tried to listen the best I could. One day, I was in our school library sharing time with my good friend, the librarian. A gentleman from our school system came in and began talking to her. As he spoke, he said, “Kathy, we need to find someone to create the school’s webpage.” Before I knew it I heard myself say, “I’ll do it.” That began the process of learning something very new and at that time very complicated. I spent many nights, even into the morning hours, learning the language and attempting to make something show up on the page. A few days later, I was back in the school library when my first sentence finally showed up on the webpage screen. “You would have thought I had created ‘FIRE’” in the way I reacted.   From there the school webpage was designed.

Two years later, I met and was later engaged to a wonderful man, and I began looking for a teaching position in the town where he lived because we were to be married that summer. As we talked to the superintendent of schools, we found that they were planning on hiring someone to design their school system webpage as well as teach computer in their local intermediate school. I got the position so I began teaching and working for that school system one month after we were married.

Doesn’t God work that way? I had no idea when I said, “I’ll do it” on that day sitting in the library that two years later I would be getting married and would be creating webpages for a living and teaching computer to third-sixth grade students. But God knew, and God gave me the tools and talents to be able to accomplish the job. I look back today and stand in total awe for what God led me to on that special day.

Prayer:   God, thank you for having a plan for our lives and for equipping us before we even know where you are leading. Help us feel your presence today Lord where we can start training and learning skills for that plan. Help us listen, God, for your voice and help us know where you are leading. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WAITING TO HEAR GOD’S PLAN

2 thoughts on “Equipping Us for His Plan

  1. i cannot believe you did not mention how cute the superintendent was! susan and i read your post everyday. keep it up

    Like

Leave a Reply

