My Two Mothers

Proverbs 31:25-31

Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come. She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. She looks well to the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her. “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.” Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Give her the fruit of her hands and let her works praise her into the gates.

Thought for the Day:  Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

I have been reading over the past couple of days in social media special words spoken about mothers. This morning I began thinking about my mother and the ladies who have nurtured me through the years since my mother’s death. There are many who are in that wonderful category of “adopted moms”. I love them all. My mother was radiant, strong, beautiful, and amazing. Her love shown through in all she did. For me, my Mama taught me to look at hope in the midst of strife, have faith when life was hard, and to have love at all times. Her beauty was obvious on the outside but her pure beauty was on the inside and could be seen by all. She has been gone now for seventeen years but I still find myself talking to her often and I see her in my hands and in the face in the mirror almost every day. My “Mom” as I called her when I was married to her son, David, became my “Mom” after my mother passed away. Rita Shaw is radiant, strong, beautiful and amazing. Her love shows through in everything she does. She continues to help me look at hope in the midst of strife, have faith when life is hard, and to have love at all times. She is beautiful on the outside, and she has pure beauty on the inside and everyone can feel it and see it. Her voice has been one that has helped me through my present transition and I feel her prayers lifted for me everyday. Happy Mother’s Day, Rita (Mom).

As I remember my mother and as I reflect on my “Mom”, I can’t help thinking about the example of Christ I have experienced through both of them as well as many others. When I looked up “Mother’s Day Scriptures” I found Proverbs 31, where it states “Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come. She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue” I can’t think of a better way to describe “my two moms” than in those words from Proverbs.

Prayer Focus: Those remembering their mothers.

2 thoughts on “My Two Mothers

  1. You give me too much credit. I only wish I was more like your Mother. That lady truly fit the scripture. I can only thank God for placing you in my life. You are the daughter I never had and always wished for. I just know you put the light in my life that cannot be extinguished. Thanks for being the world’s best daughter and Happy Mother’s Day to you. All my love Lolli

    Like

Leave a Reply

