The Snare

2 Timothy 2:25-26

God may perhaps grant that they will repent and come to know the truth, and they may escape from the snare of the devil, after being captured by him to do his will.

Thought for the Day:  God’s voice will lead you out of the snares

A week after Easter, our family Easter Egg Hunt finally took place. My husband woke early and took a huge basket of plastic, filled, eggs outside and hid them within the wooded area of our backyard. Hours went past and the kids had no idea what was waiting for them just a short distance away. The time finally arrived when we turned our video cameras on and called for the boys. The youngest, as suspected, had the grandest reaction of excitement with a lot of laughing and yelling. The oldest was excited – for he saw a competition. As the hunt began, we watched and cheered them on. At one point, the youngest saw a very special egg and he wanted it badly. We heard him yelling something and looked at him. “I see a giant egg. ‘Holy Moly’ I’ve gotta get it.” But, he was caught in the snare of some small limbs and it was as if they were grabbing him and holding him back from getting to that special egg. He finally pulled himself loose and got to the egg with cheers and a lot of laughter.

As I sat this morning looking out over the area of the hunt, I reflected back over those wonderful moments our family had together, then I specifically thought about that moment when my youngest wanted something so badly but was being held back by the snares that caught him. Today, as a woman still in transition, I have my thoughts about where God is leading me in my job and other areas of my life, but I, as my son felt, feel that there are snares holding me back. But, then I remember him breaking through those limbs and grabbing that special Easter Egg. The joy on his face will be in my memory for a very long time. That is what I await. Soon, I know I will “break free from the snares” and will find joy in the place God is leading me. Many are being held back by snares in life and, with God’s help, will soon break through to see God’s plan more clearly.

Prayer: God, thank you for the reminder that You are leading us to the place you would have us go. Help us remember each day to pray and to try to break through any snares and obstacles that keep us from Your plan for us. You are there waiting – leading us to Your will. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE FEELING PULLED BACK BY SNARES

 

Leave a Reply

