Peaceful Place

Mark 1:35

Mark 1:35 Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.

Thought for the Day:  Find your quiet place with Him

Everywhere I look in our home, I see something that needs to be done to put the house in order. When I go in the kitchen, there is always cleaning to be done. When I go in my dining room, there are still boxes sitting against one wall. When I go in any part of our house, there are boxes that need to be unpacked and cleaning that needs to happen. It is very overwhelming. Last night, I ended up in our guest room because of a difficulty in sleeping. When I awoke this morning, a beginning of a break time for me, I realized I had slept the rest of the night without waking and that rain had created a beautiful sound outside the window. I turned on the lamp next to the bed and saw the most beautiful thing. I saw a room that looked very clean and uncluttered. As I got up to get my coffee and to grab my computer to write, I felt a drawing back to that room. I actually felt a little excitement that I had a quiet, peaceful place to go where the reminders of daily life were found on the other side of the door. In this quiet moment, I sit on the bed listening to the rain fall outside. In the midst of that rain, I hear the creek and I hear the beautiful sound of the birds singing outside. Within our cluttered and still boxed house, I have found solace – if only for a few minutes.

Today, in the quiet of my newly found quiet place, I listen. I listen to the quiet and I listen for the peaceful sounds. Then I reflect on this gift. God has given me a gift of knowing that when I get overwhelmed and need to step away a minute, I have that bedroom that sits in a corner of our home. When I open the window of that room, I hear the sound of the creek and other peaceful sounds of nature outside. God wants us to take time to visit with Him where we only hear His voice. God’s own son, Jesus, showed us how important that one on one time with God is. Peace, perfect peace with Him.

Prayer: God, thank you for quiet places where we can be one-on-one with You. Help us listen to Your voice during those special times where You can speak to us. Help us listen to Your voice. Amen.

Prayer Focus: Those yearning for a quiet place

 

Leave a Reply

