Holy Week Passion

Mark 15:40-41

There were also women looking on from afar, among whom were Mary Mag’dalene, and Mary the mother of James the younger and of Joses, and Salo’me, who when he was in Galilee, followed him, and ministered to him; and also many other women who came up with him to Jerusalem.

Thought for the Day:  Feel the passion of Passion Week.

In 2000, I was given the opportunity to sing one of the solos in our church’s “Living Last Supper” presentation telling about the life of Jesus. My solo, “The Day He Wore My Crown” was sung during the time in the presentation when the soldiers took Jesus off the cross after the crucifixion and placed his body in his mother’s arms. From my point of sight, I was able to see the image better than anyone else in the room. My emotions took over as I sang because in my heart, I was witnessing Jesus’ death, and then was observing Mary’s face as His limp body was placed in her arms. Since that time fifteen years ago, my Palm Sunday into the Passion Week has taken on a different and stronger meaning. Up until that time I went through the motions of Holy Week, but since that time I have visualized my memory of that presentation when I looked straight into the face of Jesus as He was laid in Mary’s arms, and when I looked into Mary’s face as her “baby” was placed in her arms.

What do we do each year to bring Holy Week into a new meaning in our lives? We can start by reading the scripture, Mark 15, with the trial through the Crucifixion of Jesus. That reminds us of that day. Then, we can visualize the scripture and in our minds feel the words in that passion story. Personally, I see Jesus’ face and the agonizing look in Mary’s face. That puts my mind into the story of the Passion and helps prepare me for Holy Week and Easter.

Prayer: God, as we go through Holy Week this year, help us feel closer to you by remembering the passion. You gave your only Son to die on that cross for us and He gave his life to forgive our sins. You are awesome God. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE ENTERING HOLY WEEK

 

 

Leave a Reply

