When Tragedy Happens

2 Corinthians 1:3-7

If we are afflicted, it is for your comfort and salvation; and if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which you experience when you patiently endure the same sufferings that we suffer.   

Thought for the Day:  God is with us through our tragedies

Twenty-one years ago today, my husband and I had been going through a struggle that had lasted several months.  We were also making a decision to whether to move to another state or to stay where we were.  Late in the afternoon, David came to me and asked me, “Why do you stick with me?”.  My response that came very quickly was, “Because I love you.”  We talked awhile and ultimately he told me that he admired me for standing by and loving him.  He then said, “I love you” to me and we embraced.  I in turn said, “Then I’m ready to move to Colorado!”   Joy came to my heart in that moment that I had not felt in awhile.  He left to go to a band rehearsal and I joyfully started cleaning our house with smile on my face.
I remember standing in our kitchen when the dreadful call came.  “Is this Mrs. Shaw?”, “Yes it is.”  “Is your husband’s name David Shaw?”.  “Yes, it is”.  “Your husband has been in an accident and is being air-lifted to the MED”, our trauma hospital.  “No, I don’t believe you,” I screamed  and I truly didn’t believe the officer when I heard the words.  After a minute or so, I did believe the officer.   I went from the pure joy to raw fear and then made the call to his parents which was the most difficult thing I had ever done.    After, much time and having to go from detour to detour because of the accident, I finally made it to the hospital to find he was in critical condition and I was sent to the waiting room where many family and friends had already gathered.  We fearfully waited until they told us they had him stabilized.
It was hard to see God during that time, but God’s love showed through those friends who had gathered.  David was well-loved and God let David’s family and me know through this time that he was a precious child of God and that God loved him.

Prayer:   God, sometimes it is difficult to see your face when tragedy happens, but in that tragedy we seem to see you more clearly through people and events.  Thank you for making yourself known to us, especially in the hard times. Amen.

Prayer Focus:  THOSE GOING THROUGH TRAGEDY
Leave a Reply

