Protective Wings

Luke 13:34

Jerusalem, Jerusalem, killing the prophets and stoning those who are sent to you! How often would I have gathered your children together as a hen gathers her brood under her wings, and you would not.

Thought for the Day:  God is there opening his wings to protect you as a hen protects her chicks.

As I turned on my computer, the computer that crashed and was sent back to the factory to be completely reset, I knew I would not have my files including the devotionals I had written over the past year. I was fortunate to find them on an off-site “cloud” that I had set up when I got my new computer.  As I saved the files back to my computer, I remembered so many by their titles which triggered special memories of the times I wrote each one.  As I reflected back, I could see the changes in my heart from the early devotionals I wrote as my family was going through our lowest and most fearful time to the later ones I wrote as we began seeing the wonderful light of hope.  Today, as I sit in our new place writing my devotional for the day, I realize how much has changed and I see clearly that God has led us here.  I do look back, however, and remember the pain for that pain was what made us go another direction in our lives.  Last week, our pastor preached on a passage that included Luke 13:34 where Jesus said that he was like a hen that protected her chicks under her wings.  Today, we can look back and see that there was a fox trying to take us away from the protective “wings of God” but we chose to stay there and through that protection, God led us to a new and beautiful place…..and we are still under the protection of God’s wings now.

Our church includes “Daily Devotions” in our bulletin each week that give us daily thoughts to help us focus on the sermon throughout the week.  The following are the words from yesterday’s thoughts:  Jesus loves Jerusalem, the city that will kill him.  He loves the people that reject him.  He loves the world that ignores him.  In his lament, we recognized our own.  In his agony and frustration, he gathers up all the frustrations of our life in this world and offers it to God, that we may know God hears, understands, accepts and loves all of us – the good, the bad, the desperate, the hopeful – all of it; all of us!

Prayer: God, thank you for sheltering us under Your wings when we go through hard times. You reach your wing out as we begin stepping out of that protection to bring us back to you.  You open your wings up to welcome us when we do step away and decide to come back.  God, be with us and protect us from the harm of this world and help us to always know that you are welcoming us with love and open wings.  Amen.

Prayer Focus: Those needing to feel protection

Leave a Reply

