I Can See Jesus in You

Matthew 5:14-16

“’You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hid.  Nor do men light a lamp and put it under a bushel, but on the stand, and it gives light to all in the house.  Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.’”

Though for the Day:  Look for Jesus in the faces of others

I have been looking forward for months to be able to go to a Bible Study at our church led by our pastor. Each week I have had intentions of attending but something has always kept me from being able to go.  I have had my frustrations about this, but have not really thought a lot about it.  I was finally able to attend last night and was surprised by how quickly my spirit felt joy as I walked into the room.  First, I was able to attend something with my husband without worrying about my children because I knew they were taken care of in their activities.  Second, I was in a class of all adults and after feeling for so long that I was surrounded by “five year olds” twenty-four hours a day I experienced a small sense of peace.  Third, as suspected, our pastor led us as only he can do through the introduction to the Bible Study.  It was nice to listen to him and to acquaint myself with the people in my small break out group.  But, even that wasn’t what touched me the most.  After the study, I had several of the most precious people come up to me to offer me encouragement as they showed their support to me sharing stories of transition, stories of making it through their storms in life, and mostly encouraging me that God was with me each step of the way.

This morning, I read in “The Upper Room” devotional that Jesus can be found in the people we talk to along our way each day.  In my time with new friends after Bible Study last night, I truly believe I visited with Jesus.  Through them, I felt peace and love.  Through them, I felt joy and encouragement.  Through them, I felt contentment.  And, as one precious lady stated, “I am praying for you, and I do not say that without meaning it – that would make God look bad. When I say I am going to pray for you, then I am going to pray for you.”  I feel assured today that I will continue going through transitional pains, but I feel more assured that Jesus is with me.  Jesus spoke to me last night and told me so.

Prayer: Father God, thank you for bringing us into your presence.  Thank you for the people you place in our lives each day who show Jesus in their faces and in their words.  Help us look each day for those people and help us be Jesus to others.  Amen

Prayer Focus: Those needing to see Jesus

Leave a Reply

