We are Here to Worship God

John 4:23-24

But the hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for such the Father seeks to worship him. God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.”

Thought for the Day:  Make our main reason for waking up each day to Worship God.

A new year begins today and although our family just moved to a new house yesterday, I am steered another direction in my writing. I could think about all the cleaning that needs to be done before we unpack the many boxes. I could think about the boxes and that I need to start and unpack one box at a time. I could think about a thousand other things that need to be done as one moves into a new home. But since today is the beginning of a new year, I am thinking about my relationship with God.  I read in a devotional this morning that God’s main reason for me, us, is for us to worship Him. It went on to say that the main reason for the saints in heaven is to worship Him. In my relationship with God, am I worshipping Him the way He deserves and expects? Am I worshipping Him or am I “worshipping” the house cleaning, the boxes, and the other overwhelming lists of things that go along with moving into a new house? As I go into this day, this day of preparing a new home for our family, I want to make sure that I keep God as the centerpiece in all I do and that my family knows that this house is a “House of God”, and we will worship Him in prayer and song.

“Here I am to Worship. Here I am to bow down. Here I am to say that you’re my God. You’re altogether lovely, altogether worthy, altogether wonderful to me.” Today, as we enter our house, we will enter with the heart of worship.

Prayer:   God, thank you for bringing us on this first day of a new year to the reminder that our main reason you placed us here is to Worship You. Help us keep that in perspective as we go through our day. As we do the chores and work of the day, help us to keep You in the forethoughts of our minds and to worship You throughout our day. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE BEGINNING A NEW YEAR

Leave a Reply

