Create in Me a Clean Heart

Psalms 51:10

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and put a new and right spirit within me.

Thought for the Day:  Where can the “refiner’s fire” create a clean heart in me?

“Create in me a clean heart, O Lord, my God, and renew a right spirit within me.” As I read The Upper Room section this morning about the Second Sunday in Advent, this scripture seemed to pop off the page for me to see. I loved singing those words early on in my Christian life as sung by Keith Green, but for some reason today the words were more than a beloved song. As I read the words in the devotional, I was hit hard by the words, “we must purify our hearts from their hardened edges.” Throughout the last year and a half, my heart admittedly has hardened toward those who helped create a hardship in our family. The hurt and pain was and occasionally is hard to bear and in those moments all I can do is pray. I pray for forgiveness as I still hold on to some pain. I pray in thanksgiving that God has stayed with us as we have hurt, cried, prayed, wondered, wept, prayed more, seen, rejoiced, and ultimately cried out in joy in the wonders He has shown us. As I reflect on the words about Advent this morning and read, “Like a refiner’s fire, God can reshape our hearts, widening the way for Christ to enter in”, I realized that I have felt the “refiner’s fire” over this period and can look back and see where my heart has been reshaped in so many ways, but particularly in the way I can clearly see that God was with us through every step of the hardship repeatedly saying, “’Do not fear; I will provide for you and your little ones.’ Thus he reassured them and comforted them.’”

Today, as we continue into the Advent Season and prepare for the coming of Jesus Christ let us think about ways to let Christ into our hearts to “Create in me a clean heart”. It might be in the way we think or feel toward someone, a forgiveness we need to feel about a situation, or a grievance we have. It might be that we need forgiveness for a sin we carry in our hearts that keep us from having that pure relationship with God. Where can the refiner’s fire come in and reshape our hearts? Where can the potter’s hand smooth out a rough edge in our heart? Where can God “Create in me a clean heart” today?

Prayer:   God, thank you for being there for us anytime to “Create in me a clean heart”. You wait for us every day to ask for your help and to ask for your forgiveness. Help us see you more clearly and help us to turn over our lives to you where you can refine us in the persons you desire us to be. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE PREPARING FOR CHRISTMAS

 

 

Leave a Reply

