Answering a Call for Help

1 Corinthians 11:1-2

And he said to them, “How is it that you sought me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?”

Thought for the Day:  Be present and listen to what God calls you to do in a moment.

I have a special friend who was one of my youth when I was a youth director in the early eighties. She and I became very close friends especially after she graduated from high school. My family had planned a trip to Walt Disney World and I invited her to go. We had a grand time and enjoyed the trip very much. On the last night of our trip, a fearful time came as my dad, my friend, and I walked to our car in the parking lot.   We got close to the car and realized my friend was not with us. We started yelling and looking around but couldn’t find her. I’m sure it was only a couple of minutes, but it seemed like an eternity, before she walked over a hill toward us. We asked her where she had been and she replied that someone was having trouble and she went to help. My dad and I never shared with her the fears we had in those moments. My friend had done what she thought she was supposed to do when someone needed help. She was Jesus to someone in need that evening.

As I thought back over this situation, I visualized Mary and Joseph when they realized Jesus was not in the caravan traveling home from the feast of the Passover. In fear, they went back to find him. When they found him, he was in the temple, sitting among the teachers and asking questions. When Mary found him she asked him why he treated them this way. He replied, “How is it that you sought me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” When I reflect on my friend’s disappearance I realize that she was doing what she was good at and called to do. She was helping someone in need.

Prayer:   Father, thank you for putting us in places to do what you call us to do. Jesus was where he was supposed to be and my friend was where You had called her. Thank you for your love and for making us in a way that reflects you. Amen

Prayer Focus: THOSE HELPING THOSE IN NEED

Leave a Reply

