God’s Unexpected Plan is Better Than Our Formulated Plan

Zechariah 9:9

Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion! Shout aloud, o daughter of Jerusalem! Lo, your king comes to you; triumphant and victorious is he, humble and riding on an ass, on a colt the foal of an ass.

Thought for the Day:  God’s unexpected plan is better than the plan we have formulated in our minds.

Most of the time God’s way of fulfilling prophecy comes differently than we might think. I have been humbled and put in my place many times when I have realized that a wonderful plan I formulated in my mind was not the plan God had for me. Recently, Mark and I have both been overwhelmed as we have seen God’s hand work in our lives. The work and heartache we felt along the way as we formulated a plan only to see that plan washed away. Then, unexpectedly, God appeared and said, “Here it is. I know this is not what you planned – but isn’t it even better.” Many times over the past few days I have teared up and said, “God, I am overwhelmed.” This time, however, the overwhelming feeling did not come from my thoughts about all the things I needed to do. This time the overwhelming feeling was in thanks to God for doing things that I never dreamed could happen.

The devotional I read this morning was based on the scripture from Zechariah where the prophecy was given that said that the King would come humble and riding on a colt. This was not what the people wanted to hear as they cried out for someone to lead them in war. But when the time came Jesus was born in a manger, later rode into Jerusalem on a donkey, and then was crucified on the cross. This unexpected entrance brought us more than a warrior would have done, it brought us forgiveness for our sins. It gave us “a better” plan. It gave us salvation and gave us peace.

Prayer:   God, thank you for doing the unexpected in our lives. Help us ask you to lead us through each day and help us to look for you in everything we do. Help us listen for Your plan in our lives, because it is always better then we can imagine.

Prayer Focus: THOSE LISTENING FOR GOD’S PLAN

2 thoughts on “God’s Unexpected Plan is Better Than Our Formulated Plan

Leave a Reply

