It’s Not in the Room

Philippians 4:11

Not that I complain of want; for I have learned, in whatever state I am, to be content.

Thought for the Day:  It’s not in the room, it’s the memories of what happened in the room.

I cleaned his room out to make way for packed boxes. As a transition happens, we realize that things need to be done to make way for our future and finding God’s plan for our lives. My thought on that morning was that my youngest son had been sleeping with me during our transitional period because I wanted him close to me where I knew he was okay. So, what better room to prepare to put boxes in than his nursery? I packed up the things in his room and cleaned the carpet to prepare for the boxes that would soon be stored there. As I packed his room, however, I was saddened that the joy made in that room through reading stories in the rocking chair to my children and then the playing my children did in that room would no longer be. As I continued, I realized that those memories were in my mind and in the minds of my children, not in that room. About that time my eldest son came into that room as I continued packing and said, “Mama, look….” I looked up to see the book he held in his hand, “I Love You Forever”. It was a book he found on his shelf in his room that I had read to him when he was small. I made up a tune to “I love you forever, I like you for always, as long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be” and sang that tune only to him. When he showed me the book I couldn’t help but sing. That book wasn’t in the room where I read it so many times. It was in a different room on a different shelf, but the memory was as fresh as if it had just happened. God gave me the okay in that “Mama, look…” to prepare that room for boxes.

As we prepare to make a move to another place, I know that the specific places where we have experienced life will live long in my memory. I also know that God has ordained His plan for our lives that will create new and more exciting memories in the lives of my children. He is leading us to the place He has prepared for us and nothing could be better. “God, take us to where You desire for us today, and lead us clearly to the place you have prepared for us.”

Prayer:   God, thank you for letting us know that You are leading our lives in the way that You ordain. You have a desire for us and we ask today that you make that desire clear to us where we will Know that you are leading us. Help us to open our eyes to see Your way. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE REMEMBERING

Leave a Reply

