The Skate Park

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight. In all your ways acknowledge him and he will make straight your paths.

Thought for the Day:  Becoming Christ’s joyful servant comes in making a routine of following Him

“Mama, can we go to the skate park?”, “The skate park is right there, can we go for just a few minutes?”, and “Mama, we won’t be back for a few weeks – Please let us go one more time.” It thrills me to see that my boys have found something that gives them pure pleasure as we make a transition in our lives.

This mother of two very active boys has “grown up” as she has watched these children doing something that involves scooters, skateboards, and helmets. The first time we went, I was that mother who tried to “fix” everything the boys were doing. “Be careful on that hill!”, “Don’t go there – it is too deep.” and “Jonathan, you’re going too fast.” The second time the boys went, I made them go with their daddy because I couldn’t stand to watch – way too scary. On this trip, however, I watched as my boys became very independent as they scootered around the park. They were sure of themselves and my worry turned into comfort as I realized they could keep up with the other boys who had been coming to this park for years. My last visit to the skate park with the boys brought me to sit on the side of the pits as they scootered and climbed walls. I was joining into their fun and I was filled with joy as I watched.

As I reflect on this adventure of going from a very anxious mother to one who was comfortable in watching her children doing something fun, I thought about new Christians as they begin taking part in experiences with God. At first, going into a church or taking part in a missional project can be very overwhelming. As we continue and make a routine of being a part of Christ’s Church, however, we become more comfortable and more willing to take part. As I watch people in the church who have found their niche, I see people who have a joy on their face as they take care of things in God’s kingdom.

Prayer:   God, help me find my talent in Your church and help me feel comfortable in taking part. I want to find my niche where I can experience pure joy in worshipping You. Amen

Prayer Focus: THOSE EXPERIENCING FEAR THEN JOYDSC_7563

DSC_7535

Leave a Reply

