The Gift of a Hug

Ephesians 6:8

Whatever good any one does, he will receive the same again from the Lord, whether he is a slave or free.

Thought for the Day:  We can show the love of God in all situations.

Two years ago, after being in the same school classroom for six years, I moved to a new classroom on the main hallway of our school. I changed classrooms because we were told we would have larger classes the next year and the room I had been in was very small. When I was offered a larger room, I took it. At first, I wasn’t sure if I would like the new location because my room for all of those years was on the kindergarten hallway and I loved watching the little ones as they walked by my door. After school started and as I stood in my door to welcome students, I realized quickly that I was going to love my new location. All of a sudden, I went from watching kindergarten children walking by to feeling hugs from my previous students. Even today, as I stand in my door and then move to my desk for my morning routine, I will have many students stop for their morning hug. As I read a devotional reading this morning, I was reminded that as much as those children want their hugs from me each morning that I feel a powerful love from each of them as I receive those hugs. God, in a change of classroom location, put me in a perfect place to feel His love and respond to that love.

God moves us from place to place in our lives and if we just open our eyes we will see His reasons and his plan. Today as I stand in my door, I will hug several children and I will have my “Gracie” come and stand next to me until we get our grand hug from each other. I will remember that God is hugging me through that child and God is hugging that child through me in that moment.

Prayer:   God, thank you for putting us in places where you can show yourself to us through others, and help us to show your love to others through the things we do. Help us remember that in every situation, we can show You to those around us. Amen

Prayer Focus: TEACHERS

Leave a Reply

