Something Spectacular

Psalms 139:23

Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts.

Thought for the Day:  Let God in and something spectacular happen.Yesterday morning was a special one for this mother as God led something spectacular to happen. This spectacular thing should happen everyday in our lives, but seldom works out quite this way. My oldest son, Nathaniel, had been on my heart so instead of writing and doing my own devotional time I wanted time with my baby. So, I went to his bed and literally tried to pick him up to carry him into the great room to the couch but it didn’t work out so well. I dropped him on the floor – technically he slid to the floor but to me I felt that I had dropped him. We got to the couch and we began talking. We talked about life and school, we talked about our family situation, we talked about things that had happened earlier in my life, and the list can go on and on. We shed a lot of tears and we smiled a lot as well. After many minutes, my youngest child, Jonathan, came into the room and climbed up into my lap to snuggle. Nathaniel and I continued talking and found ourselves in a wonderful mother/son place. Then, that thing happened….that wonderful thing…..all cuddled together the three of us prayed and prayed hard. We brought God right into the middle of our cuddle time. I know….I really know…..God was there all along but when we invited God into the time of sharing and our hearts welcomed Him, the time became spectacular. We were more in God’s presence because we opened our hearts to Him.

In the quiet moment of our mornings or in the hectic moments of our days, God is there. He is always with us and will never let us go. But when that spectacular thing happens and we open our hearts wide and let Him in fully, the door opens for a beautiful relationship with our Heavenly Father.   It is then that God can create something “spectacular” into our lives.

Prayer:   God, thank you for crazy times with our children. Thank you for those times that we can look back on and laugh. But most of all, thank you for being present with us all the time. Help us to welcome you in more fully where we can hear Your voice more clearly in our lives. Amen

Prayer Focus: PARENTS

IMG_2748

Leave a Reply

