The Next Step

Jeremiah 1:5

The Lord said to Jeremiah, “Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you.”

Thought for the Day:  God knows the plans He has for us.  He knows us…he really knows us.

Years after my brothers passed away I married my husband, Mark, and we became a team as we attended our Annual Conference for the Memphis Conference. Since I was the daughter of a United Methodist pastor and Mark was not only an ordained Deacon but also the son of a United Methodist pastor, we were quite known to many. We sang together several times and he led music for the Annual Conference a couple of times and took part in the proceedings of the conference. Since it had been years since I attended Annual Conference with my parents, I had the special delight of seeing people and sharing stories with them. I felt known. However, a couple of people made the comment that went something like this, “I knew your parents had two boys because we saw them in their wheelchairs, but we didn’t know they had a girl.” I know they meant well, but my heart seemed to say, “Ouch!” and I wasn’t sure how to respond.   I wasn’t as “known” as I thought. I had to rest in the knowledge that so many did know me and reacted to me in very positive and loving ways.

Today, I reflect on two scriptures that came during my devotional reading this morning. Psalms 139:1-4 acknowledges the fact that God searches me and knows me. He has known me since before I was born and even knows the words I am going to speak before I speak them. The Lord said to Jeremiah in Jeremiah 1:5, “Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you.” Today, I began diligent prayer for God to lead me to the next place in my journey, and to get my family together as we are in transition with my husband in one place and my children and me in another. I believe today and I pray today that He brings us to the “plans He has for us.”  God knows me and I know He already has a plan.

Prayer:   God, thank you for scriptures that help us remember that You have a plan for our lives and that You deeply know us. You know where we are going and how we are going to get there. So, as we question and pray, please bring those plans to light that we can begin the next step in our journey.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WAITING FOR THE NEXT STEP

Leave a Reply

