Trusting God’s Protection

Psalms 5:11-12

But let all who take refuge in thee rejoice, let them ever sing for joy; and do though defend them, that those who love thy name may exult in thee. For thou dost bless the righteous O Lord; thou dost cover him with favor as with a shield.

Thought for the Day:  God is our Protector

Today I look upon my children and see that they trust each other when they are afraid. In the darkness of night, one of our children needed to get something out of the car and didn’t want to go out into the dark. He asked me to go with him, but I assured him that he could do it. He then asked his four year old brother to go with him and they went to the car together, conquering the dark to get what he wanted out of the car. This morning, our four year old came to me when he awoke and said, “I was scared when I woke up this morning so I went in with Nathaniel where I could snuggle with him.” So in his fear when he awoke he trusted that being close to his brother would protect him. It warmed my heart to know that within a few hours my children turned to each other for protection. As I witnessed these acts, I looked at myself and noticed how much I fear on a daily basis and need someone to call on when I am afraid. My husband and I turn to each other often when we are afraid, but know that God is our ultimate protector.

God is our protector who we always have beside up to protect us from our fears and from harm. He is always with us, walking right beside us in all we do.

Prayer:   Father God, thank you for protecting us from the harm of this world. Help us to look to you in our fears to trust that you will lead us through the darkness into the light of your precious love. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE NEEDING PROTECTION

Leave a Reply

