Listening to the Call

Genesis 12:1

The Lord said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.”

Thought for the day:  Where is God leading us today?

I was asked to do a children’s sermon for a worship service. The sermon was going to be about Abraham’s calling. As I reflected over the scripture, I looked at different aspects of that calling, including Abraham’s willingness to follow God where He was leading without question. He packed up all of his possessions, gathered his animals, and led his family to an unknown place because He heard God’s voice telling him to do so. Because of Abraham’s relationship with God, and his willingness to obey, he heard God’s voice and traveled the long distance to a new land. God promised Abraham that he would be the Father of many nations. Abraham obeyed and had so many descendants, including our own Savior Jesus Christ.

What is God calling us to do today? Are we listening? Are we willing? Are we ready to pack up everything and go into the ministry He has planned for us? Will we hear God when He calls? In our hectic, busy lives today it is difficult to hear God’s voice, but if we pray and then make the time to listen, we will hear.

Prayer:   God, I am listening. I am listening to hear your voice calling. Thank you so much God, for being the Father I need to lead me through your plan. Help me to slow down and focus where I can hear Your voice. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE HEARING GOD’S CALL

Leave a Reply

