God Gives Us Special Friends

John 15:12-13

“This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.”

Thought for the Day:  God gives us friends to help us develop our faith

It was about 1944 when my mother’s family moved to Somerville after being away during her early years. My mother was rather shy and was nervous about going to school her first day in the Somerville Primary School. I love how she told the story, “During recess I was frightened and didn’t have anyone to talk to. I walked around and found myself under a tree that stood in the corner of the schoolyard. There was a little girl who was playing under the tree and when she looked at me she said, ‘I’ll be your friend.’” That little girl’s name was Margaret Ann, and that moment in time during my mother’s third grade year began a friendship that would last a lifetime.   I talked to Mrs. Margaret Ann’s husband recently giving me a warmth in my heart. Not only were my mother and Mrs. Margaret Ann lifetime friends, their husbands became the good friends as well. My Daddy and Bro. Frank were the closest of friends, calling each other every Saturday evening to talk. What a blessing it was to watch this foursome as they lived life through their faith!   What began with the words, “I’ll be your friend,” became one of the grandest relationships anyone could have.

As I look back at my life and see the relationships God placed in my path, I quickly remember the moments when I met those Christian friends. Each of those friends helped develop my Christian faith and as I think back today, I can see how my faith became deeper because of their friendships. Today, think back over your own life and the friends God gave you. Then, thank God for those friends and how they helped you in your faith journey.

Prayer:   God, thank you for friendship. Thank you for knowing the friends we needed to have in our lives who could help us through our faith journey. You knew who we needed at the time we needed them and planted them in a place and time that was perfect. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WHO HAVE SPECIAL FRIENDS

Mary Jane and Margaret Ann

Leave a Reply

