The Chair

Jeremiah 29:12-13

Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me; when you seek me with all your heart.

Thought for the Day:  God leads us stop the perfect places in our lives when we can worship Him. 

We have two wooden chairs that sit on our patio. They are so comfortable and have become my perfect place to sit as I read my devotionals and write. Both are very worn from years of being outside and from their movement from our house to Joyner’s Campmeeting each year. I love those chairs. Recently, our family traveled to Lake Junaluska, North Carolina, for their Worship and Arts Week. I had looked forward to that time thinking that it would be the perfect time and place for devotional reading and writing. However, when we arrived for the week I realized how busy we were and I couldn’t seem to find a time to sit and write. I tried a couple of times, but the words just did not come. One afternoon, when the children were in their time of programming, I walked outside our hotel, The Lambuth Inn, and I saw it, there was one chair sitting in front of me almost exactly like the ones that sit on our patio. I moved it to a shady spot and sat down. Almost instantly, I felt at peace. I prepared the area with my devotional guides, Bible and computer. Then, I took my time in reading and was able to write about the beauty of the lake and flowers. The familiar feel of the chair placed my mind in the right place to find God. I guess the routine of spending time with God included sitting in my comfortable chair and it took that comfort for me to be able to write.

God wants us to find a routine to read scripture, study devotionals, and pray. I realized that even the special chair was a part of my routine. I always heard that if you do something for a certain amount of time that it becomes a habit. In January of this year, when I began my routine of reading, studying, writing, and praying, I never dreamed that I would need that time each day to center my heart on God. But it has and I am thankful for God’s leading me to this special time in my life. Who would have thought that I needed a special chair to help me focus on God?

Prayer:   God, thank you for giving us a time for centering our life on You. Thank you for leading us to the time and place of Worship. Our talks each day help me understand more clearly your design for my life. Help me listen to you throughout each day. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE FINDING TIME TO WORSHIP GOD

Leave a Reply

