Leading the Herd

John 10:14-15

I am the good shepherd; I know my own and my own know me, as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep.

Thought for the Day:  God, the Good Shepherd, takes care of His sheep.

He stood in front of a herd of cattle. He did not say a word. As he stood, the cows and bull moved to where he wanted them to go. When one cow started going a different direction, he stood in front of her and she adjusted her direction to the way he was leading. I watched a dear friend as he herded and fed his cows on his farm. I watched closely to see the amazing way the cows reacted to him as he stood quietly in front of them. I could tell they had been trained to follow this man who stood quietly before them. They trusted him and they followed. I then noticed the concern in his voice when he realized one cow had not come and that she stayed far away in a thicket. He immediately went to check on her and gave thought to what he needed to do to help her.

As I watched my dear friend, Marty, herding his cows and then caring so deeply for them, I couldn’t help but think about how God leads us and how he teaches us to follow Him. When we are young He trains us up in the way we should go and then we follow without even realizing we are doing it. Once in awhile when we start going in another direction, He has to do something different to remind us to go His direction. Then there are those times, when we go astray because of hurt and pain, or when we think we want something different. That’s when God leaves the rest of the herd to help us find our way back to Him. Watching this man herding his cows will stay in my mind helping me visualize how God herds and takes care of His sheep.

Prayer:   God, thank you for training us as children to learn how to follow you. You are with us then, and You are with us when we go astray. Thank you for giving us examples through those around us of how you want us to follow you. Amen.

Prayer Focus: FARMERS LEADING THEIR HERDS

Leave a Reply

